Interesting article that nicely sums up much of the new thinking on nutrition.

The Worst Lies That Mainstream Nutrition Has Told You
http://io9.com/5984275/the-worst-lies-that-mainstream-nutrition-has-told-you

For plenty of low carb information from a variety of experts check out:

The Livin’ La Vida Low-Carb Show with Jimmy Moore Archives
http://www.thelivinlowcarbshow.com/shownotes/

In particular I listened to and enjoyed the following episodes:

651: Hollywood Personal Trainer Vinnie Tortorich Is ‘America’s Angriest Trainer’

642: Ultramarathon Runner Timothy Olson Thrives On A Low-Carb Diet

640: Dr. Robert Lustig Takes On Big Food With FAT CHANCE

609: Ben Greenfield Identifies The Diet Right For Your Body Type

 

Comments
  1. I read the “Worst Lies” article and didn’t disagree with much of it. The only one I had a problem with is the Small Meals…sometimes it isn’t just about metabolism but also the hormone flux that can be caused by going from empty stomach to full and back again. Personally, I tend to go with the revolutionary, old-fashioned idea that we should be eating a little bit of everything. Balance and moderation in all things. Are you familiar with Matt Fitzgerald’s new book on diet and training for marathons? I’d be curious to hear your opinion.

    • Al Dockery says:

      I have not read The New Rules of Marathon and Half-Marathon Nutrition by Matt Fitzgerald yet. I have his Triathlete Magazine’s Essential Week-by-Week Training Guide and like it very much. His book Racing Weight wasn’t that useful for me. I think my next book that I will be reading and blogging about will be The Art and Science of Low Carbohydrate Performance by Jeff S. Volek, Stephen D. Phinney. Thanks much for reading the blog. Thanks very much for the comment.

Leave a comment